The $3,000 mower

I brought my Snapper lawnmower in for service and Quentin, my lawn guy, writes me up a ticket, says that will be $99.00 for the pre-season special, including engine tune up, blade sharpening and balance, oil, gas, timing, etc, etc, etc. Probably all the things I should be doing myself, but just don’t have the time or the expertise.

“When you sold me the mower,” I said, “you said that it would last me thirty years.”

He says with smile, “If you take care of it, give it a tune once a year, it will probably last you that long.”…..

I thought a bit and did some addition in my head. At $99.00 a year for 30 years… “that is almost $3,000” I blurted out.

He smiles a little and says, “Sometimes, it just isn’t the right thing to look at the big picture.”

Full post at DogWalkBlog.com

